Gov’t reviews overall picture of four key economic regions

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc chaired a meeting on Friday to hear a report summarizing the overall picture of Viet Nam’s four key economic regions and their impacts on national growth. The four key economic hubs are: Northern Economic Region, Central Economic Region, Southern Economic Region, and Mekong Delta Economic Region.

The report was developed by the Ministry of Planning and Investment (MPI) based on the statistics of the 2011-2017 period. Accordingly, the growth of key economic regions is mainly driven by the processing and manufacturing industries. The northern and southern key economic regions lead the country in terms of labor productivity, indicating that this is one of the core factors that decide the level and quality of economic growth of these two regions.